image

Tuition, demonstrations and training

Cookery lessons and presentations

I have 10 years of teaching experience and am qualified to level 3 in teaching lifelong learning and in vocational assessment. I teach catering and Professional cookery at Telford College as well as being involved in foundation learning and outreach cookery course throughout South Shropshire.

I regularly run workshops and cookery schemes in the Pop-Up kitchen at Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre in Craven Arms and  thoroughly recommend the experience for those who like to meet new people and work in groups.

However, if you prefer the idea of private tuition or maybe learning with a friend then Bank Cottage Workshops might be just the thing.

Whether you are a complete novice, or someone who simply lacks confidence in the kitchen,  I design the day to suit you so that we work at your pace.  If you are an experienced cook but know that there are areas you would like to develope, we can do that too!

To give you some ideas, popular topics for learning are:

•   Breadmaking – from beginners to advanced

•   Vegetarian cookery and special diets

•   Student survival and basic skills

•   Pastry and baking

•   Entertaining with ease

•   Cooking with seasonal produce and wild food

•   Family meals and planning ahead

 

You can  come and join me in my working kitchen  so you don’t need to mess up your own! Go to Feedback on  the right side of this page for some comments from previous courses.

Prices  start at  £30.00 for a morning (10.00 am till 1.30 pm) or £50.00 per full day per person plus the cost of ingredients.

My cookery sessions offer a relaxed but very practical way of learning.  We achieve a lot in a day and there is plenty of opportunity to talk around the subject and develop understanding . We start at 10.00am with a mid morning break, a light lunch and finish by 3.30. Students go away with anything they have made plus a resume of all they have learned throughout the day.

I can also be booked to run cookery demonstrations for fund raisers and special interest groups etc for which I charge £20.00 per hour plus the cost of ingredients. I ask for journey money if I have to drive more than 10 miles.

  • My name is Melissa Rees. Originally from Suffolk, I met my husband Jeremy while living in Brixton. We moved to Shropshire in 1997 and have 3 daughters and a young son. Of course I love to cook but I wouldn’t be happy to be without writing, planting and reading.
  • "Hi Melissa, My friends and I want to thank you so much for your wonderful meal. We all thoroughly enjoyed your splendid food and were so impressed by how you managed it all so wonderfully and unobtrusively. It was also so kind of you to help our stranded friend while cooking for 25 simultaneously!! We couldn’t recommend you highly enough; a business like yours deserves to succeed. We had high expectations and you didn’t disappoint. Warm regards June"